Katy
San Jose, CA

Lovely Furnished Bedroom in Peaceful Home

$25
San Jose, CA
$25
Favorite Hide
Terms
Monthly Rent
$25
Deposit
$900
Preferred Lease Duration
Month to month
Background Screen Required Background Screen Required
Homeowner will consider reduced rent for work Homeowner will consider reduced rent for work
About the Home

Lovely furnished 140 sq. ft bedroom (with full-size bed, desk, bureau, nightstand, tall bookshelf and large closet) in my peaceful 1500 square-foot 3br 1.5ba home. Shared living room, kitchen, laundry, and an exercise room with treadmill and stationary bike. Small back patio and abundant backyard garden space with trees. My neighborhood is very walkable and and only a few minutes drive from the shops and restaurants in the heart of downtown Willow Glen. Downtown San Jose is a 10-minute drive away. Virginia light-rail station is a few blocks away, with service to downtown San Jose, Campbell, South San Jose, Santa Clara, and Mountain View. Near Bird Avenue exit off 280 and two major Caltrain station/transit hub (service to San Francisco and bus to Santa Cruz) are nearby. Rent is free for the right housemate, just $25 Silvernest fee and cost of utilities (electricity/gas, water, biweekly housecleaning, cable TV and high speed internet, averaging $200 per month). In exchange, housemate ideally will help with things that are now challenges, including taking care of my two small dogs (feeding, 2x/day short walk around the block), tidying up shared spaces daily (house cleaners come twice per month), taking out the trash, weekly help with laundry, and sweeping outside walkways. Presence and attentiveness are important, as I will occasionally need reminders or assistance with basic household tasks. Ideal roommate would be someone healthy and retired or working from home. We’ll begin with a monthly lease and evaluate after our first month together. If we both feel that we’re a good match, we can commit to a longer lease.

Single Family Home
Housemate can't have pets
Furnished
No smoking
Shared Full Bath
Amenities
Air Conditioning
Washer And Dryer
Free Parking
Cable
Yard Patio Garden
Wheelchair Accessible
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Fire Extinguisher
Smoke Detector
Location
Katy
Meet Katherine
My friends describe me as warm, friendly, creative, open-minded and open-hearted. I'm 69 years old and a retired elementary school teacher. I live in the 3-bedroom home where I've raised my two sons, now in their 40's. My activities vary between going to yoga classes, workouts at the Y, my compassionate communication practice group, Mah Jong club, book club, farmers' market, the Unitarian church, and outings with friends to movies, museums, nature, and dinners. I also enjoy reading the New York Times and watching the Golden State Warriors, Jeopardy and Rachel Maddow. I love discussing politics, history, art and culture. Over the past 3 years I have developed minor but increasing challenges with memory and mobility and no longer drive. I have now hired a part-time caregiver for a few hours in the mornings and evenings on weekdays to support me in cooking nutritious meals together, exercise, calendar management, transportation and outings. Most of all, I’d like to share my home with someone who is open to developing a friendship. If this appeals to you, please send me a message.
Similar Nests