Cottage Home Share, Downtown Orlando

Orlando, FL


  • Single Family Home
  • Furnished
  • Shared Entrance
  • Owner Has Pets: One cat that is indoor only, one yorkshire terrier.
  • Housemate can't have pets
  • 1 Current Occupant
  • 1 Bedroom for rent
  • Shared Full Bath
  • Smoking Outside Ok
  • Requires use of stairs


$600per month
Oct 1, 2017monthly lease


1940s 3/1 cottage house with hardwood floors, lots of natural light, a fireplace, central heat and air, and a nice yard with mature plants.

Heart of downtown Orlando in the Mills 50 District. Walking distance to bus, grocery, Sunrail (2 miles at Florida Hospital), restaurants, shopping, Lake Eola, parks, and more. Convenient to most necessary services within a 10 minute drive. Great walking neighborhood, with YMCA, yoga, and Jazzercise close by.

Your 10' x 10'5" private room -- freshly painted -- full size bed, fresh linens, curtains, a wicker dresser, an area rug, a small table with drawer, a lamp, bench, a large monitor that you can plug into your laptop, and ceiling fan. There is a small closet with a door mirror and shelf. This can also be unfurnished, or partially furnished, if you prefer. Two windows overlook the back yard facing south.

Shared spaces include a sunroom overlooking the back yard with full windows on three sides, a front brick patio and large back yard, remodeled kitchen with new appliances, a small breezeway room with stereo, a living room with large TV (Netflix, no cable), one shared bath, an enclosed garage with washer/dryer. Rent includes utilities (up to $200, shared equally after $200), high speed internet, lawn service, and Netflix. This is a month to month rental, but I would prefer someone who would like to rent for a minimum of six months.

The exterior of the home needs fresh paint, but is not in bad repair. I have someone who cleans up my yard (mowing, trimming). If you enjoy gardening, you’ll like my yard. Inside, the home is lightly and simply furnished, and uncluttered.

Things to consider about me and the home share . . .

I may want to see references and utilize the Silvernest background check. I'm a nonjudgmental person who wants to see the best in everyone by nature. However, I am giving access to my home in exchange for rent. Unlike a private rental, sharing a home requires an additional level of trust and cooperation that will evolve over time. It is the same for the homeowner and the renter. If you're the right person for me to share my home with, you will understand and respect this.

What you're bringing into the home will fit in your bedroom and in the hall closet storage. I do have space in the garage for a bicycle, kayak, etc. I like to keep the furnishings in the shared space minimal, comfortable, functional, and uncluttered. After 25+ years in this home, I've been spending the last few years purging excess belongings and I like the simplicity of less possessions.

Keeping the home clean (especially the shared bath and kitchen) and clutter free is a priority for both of us. Doing so is simply respectful to each other. Our rooms may be a bit messy. We can just shut the door. However, if we’re collecting dishes in there, we’re also inviting pests.

No overnight guests, as the home is small, unless agreed upon in advance. Friends, family, and significant others -- mine and yours -- are respectful that the home is a shared space and they are there as visitors. They don't have the key/combination. They don't come in without knocking. I don't want to bump into a stranger when I'm in the kitchen for my morning coffee. Unnecessary drama doesn’t get invited in. We both respect that when inviting guests into the home.

I’m a morning person, so I prefer home to be quiet between 11pm and 8am most of the time. Home is refuge. I prefer a fairly quiet home and this will be a good home share arrangement for someone else who also does.

I work a minimum of 30-40 hours a week, so I’ll be gone at least that much.

There's a large TV in the living room to share. I seldom have the TV on and enjoy it for selective shows. If you like to watch TV quite frequently, I prefer that you have a TV of your own in your room, at lower volume.

We purchase our own food and beverage, sharing as we choose. Ideally, we can plan meal sharing in a way that reduces both of our food expenses, and cooking for two is simply more fun than cooking for one. Healthy eating is important to me and it would be nice to share the kitchen with someone else of like mind.

I don’t have a problem with pests. An occasional bug may be seen and I use EcoSmart spray. I am responsible for pest control costs if they arise. My cat is indoor only and there isn’t a flea issue.

I don’t want to share my home with someone who has current drug or alcohol issues OR visiting friends/family members that do.

Non smoking home. If you have friends/family that smoke, there’s a patio out front and a large yard in the back.

If either us is in a bad mood or has had a bad day, we can hopefully lighten each other’s spirits during those times -- by being helpful, supportive, and respecting each other’s needed space.

Open communication is key. We can discuss more when we meet and talk about any of this. If you are looking for a living situation to reduce expenses, simplify your life a bit, and have decided it’s time to try not living alone -- as I am -- please contact me. Hopefully, we can lessen our financial burden and share the home cooperatively to help each other.


  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer And Dryer
  • Amenity parkingFree Parking
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Amenity fireplaceFireplace
  • Storage
  • Yard Patio Garden
  • Amenity extinguisherFire Extinguisher

House Rules

Some important considerations are listed in the description. Please don't hesitate to contact me with questions you may have.

The Homeowner

Meet Robin

I’m 59 years young. I am a lifelong resident of downtown Orlando and have lived in this house for half of those years. I raised my twin sons here, primarily as a single parent. I am trustworthy, considerate, respectful, positive, and health-conscious. I want my home to be a cooperative, helpful, welcoming environment. I cherish my alone/quiet time and I'll be very respectful of yours, but I also enjoy the company of sharing a home. I currently work in the downtown area as an administrative assistant. Love the beach, photography, walking, reading, healthy cooking, garage sales, farmer's markets, and just spending time with good friends.

Apply to Robin's Home