Share a "Green Home" with an Old Green Liberal

Loveland , CO
Details

Home

  • Single Family Home
  • Furnished Or Unfurnished
  • Shared Entrance
  • Housemate can't have pets
  • 2 Current Occupants
  • 1 Bedroom for rent
  • Private Full Bath
  • No Smoking
  • Doesn't require use of stairs

Terms

$600per month
Sep 15, 2017no lease preference
$500deposit
HammerThe homeowner will consider reduced rent for work

Description

Share a really nice, 12 year old single story and fully finished basement w/ rec room. Energy efficient "Green Home" in High Plains Village, Loveland CO. Close to highway 25 and 34 access, shopping, and short walking distance to many lakes. Private bedroom and private bath. Shared main floor kitchen, dining, living room, laundry room, computer room shared with owner, and shared use of basement rec.. Other roommate has a self sufficient suite in the basement which includes a kitchenette.

Retired engineer owner-resident seeks some rental income and socially progressive and healthy lifestyle companionship. Roommate to share household chores. Some additional rent concessions for garden work and social activism possible. Furnished bedroom with a full size bed with new gel memory foam mattress and storage drawers underneath now, but can be removed. Access does not require use of stairs. Access to the garage does require stairs.

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer And Dryer
  • Amenity parkingFree Parking
  • Internet
  • Amenity fireplaceFireplace
  • Storage
  • Yard Patio Garden
  • Amenity carbon monoxide detectorCarbon Monoxide Detector
  • Amenity extinguisherFire Extinguisher
  • Amenity smoke detectorSmoke Detector

House Rules

House lot is elevated so everything is dry and flood-proof. Downtown Loveland would have to be 10 ft underwater before this place gets damp. One reason I selected this location. The neighborhood has a village feel rather than a Barracks feel as many other new developments do. Spacious, upscale, well maintained neighborhood with condos starting at 250k to million dollar homes. Very energy efficient, making it comfortable year round. I am a spoiled Californian, and I do not like uncomfortable temperatures. Kitchen water fountain is RO + activated charcoal filtered. I am very concerned with living in a healthy and unpolluted environment. So, no smokers. No drinkers, absolutely no drug users or any history of use (includes pot). Extra Credit (toward rent?) for an organic gardener
Home is very well maintained, and decorated, and I would like my roommate to help keep it that way. I bought this house in 2015 and am still doing minor energy efficiency upgrades but no more reconstruction. (I have remodeled 5 homes)

The Homeowner
Sometimes CantankerousJoe

Meet Joe

I am a 72 year old retired engineer, with sales and management experience. BS in chemical engineering. Divorced for 25 years. Children are professional, one a doctor (and CEO) and the other a marketing (VP and partner) executive, with no children and are not local.
Some multilingual skills. Moy russkiy kaput. Ich habe mein ganzes Deutsch nicht vergessen. Moje české jazykové znalosti jsou rovněž chudé. I am a history buff with analytical tendencies. Satirical humorist. No musical talents or skills, but I do have a professional Yamaha keyboard downstairs, so teach me. I read articles on the Internet for several of hours a day. I like reading history, documentaries, and about new technical developments. I also enjoy and have a big collection of old classic, foreign, and Indie movies. I am very progressive and social and analytical.
Was an independent until Bernie, then became an active Bernie supporter. Because of DNC actions against Bernie and other progressives, I re-registered as a Green. I am a strong promoter of healthy eating and lifestyle alternatives to gain real health. I was athletic when young and I still have a Bow-flex in the basement. My elliptical is upstairs because I use it everyday, but I am definitely no longer in shape.

I may be getting older but my brain still works well and I would like a similar skilled companion. Even though I am a former multi-sport athlete, I am not a macho or construction type, and would prefer softer, and more feminine attitudes, as well as intellectual companionship. Must be pleasant, reliable, and responsible.

Apply to Sometimes CantankerousJoe's Home
Similar Nests