Huge, beautiful, quiet room with garden view

Virginia Beach, VA
Details
 $600 per month Photo Gallery
 Verified User Meet Catherine

Home

  • Single Family Home
  • Furnished Or Unfurnished
  • Shared Entrance
  • Owner Has Pets: Dogs 4 (I am a dog foster)
  • Housemate can't have pets
  • 3 Current Occupants
  • 1 Bedroom for rent
  • Shared Full Bath
  • No Smoking
  • Requires use of stairs

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer And Dryer
  • Amenity parkingFree Parking
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Amenity fireplaceFireplace
  • Storage
  • Yard Patio Garden
  • Wheelchair Acessible
  • Amenity carbon monoxide detectorCarbon Monoxide Detector
  • Amenity extinguisherFire Extinguisher
  • Amenity smoke detectorSmoke Detector

Terms

$600per month
Mar 15, 2017no lease preference
$600deposit

Description

Large home (4688 ft2) renovated in 2008. Quiet neighborhood, 2 acre lot. Off street parking.
Even with 3 roommates and myself we often go a few days without seeing each other. Quiet congenial atmosphere. My current roommates are geo-bachelors and frequently deployed. I would love to find a mature person or couple who would be home more of the time and would genuinely love being there. This is a home style atmosphere not a boarding house.

The room that is currently available is very large. Two large east facing dormers. Shared full bath. There is already a large TV mounted on the wall. Room is currently furnished but can be unfurnished depending on yourneeds. Quite a bit of extra storage for normal stuff like linens, bicycles, luggage, but if you need big storage you can rent space in the garage. Roommates have full use of the rest of the house including massive kitchen. I DO NOT allow food or beverages in the upstairs due to carpet. If that is a problem for you or if you think I won't notice - don't apply. I don't have many rules but that's a big one.

I also have a downstairs master suite that will be available Spring 2017. The downstairs is about 500ft2 with an additional 10x12 closet (can be used as separate bedroom) and a huge wheel chair accessible bathroom with walk-in air-jet Jacuzzi. This suite rents to one person for $800 or $1000 for two people. There is a full permanent handicap ramp located inside the main garage so it is never wet snowy or icy. Entire downstairs main level is handicap accessible including kitchen and laundry. All roommates have full use of house as long as they are respectful of others and my house. I would love to find an older couple that would treasure the independence of living on their own but value the support of having a quiet family-type atmoshere around them.

House Rules

Utilities are split equally between roommates. They average between $90-180 per month.

No food or beverages upstairs.

No "sleepovers" unless you're related.

I would love to find someone who was comfortable running a wood stove during the day in winter.

The Homeowner
Cathy

Meet Catherine

I am 53. Chemist, gardener, very quiet, homebody.